top of page

Dropping a Class or Getting a C

Updated: Jun 29, 2020

Dear CRCers:  I did very poorly on the first midterm of a class. I'm going to drop it because I don't want a C on my transcript. But I'm also worried about how 3 classes will look. Which of the two options looks worse? Signed, GPA Conscious 


Paige Vickers for NPR

For starters, do you actually know that you're destined for a C in the class based on the grade you got on the first exam?  We'd like to recommend you speak with your professor and/or the course TAs to get a better sense of where you stand, and what you can do to improve moving forward. We'd also recommend you wait and see how you do on the second midterm. Many STEM courses have group tutoring sessions, and the Math Resource Center is a wonderful option for extra help for students enrolled in Calculus and other math courses.


See this Academic Standing chart to get a general sense of courses needed each semester (assuming students are doing a full load). A semester of 3 credits can mean still remaining in an internally-noted "Good Standing" status.


As for "how it looks" to have a C or 3 classes during a semester, keep in mind that many employers may not even ask for a transcript; and for those that do, along with for graduate/professional school applications, their criteria will often be inclusive of the full range of your transcript and your experiences, and how you narrate them in your cover letters, written personal statements, and during interviews.


CRCer Aryana wants to add:


I want to echo what was said above, and also tell you that if you are worried your time on this class will hinder how you do in other classes, that's a time where you may want to drop down to three courses - this is not a steadfast rule though. Regardless, taking three classes one or two semesters will not hurt your application for most things (not even graduate/medical school, if you can explain why you needed to). Talk to your professor and the course TAs, and feel free to come into the CRC to get some more personalized information on your situation. Our hours are on the CRC website!


CRCer Lauren wants to add: 


Hi GPA Conscious, I faced a similar dilemma this semester around the S/NC deadline. I really wanted to challenge myself to take all four of my courses for a grade. However, by the time the first test came around, I similarly did not do as well as I anticipated. Afterwards I spoke with my professor during office hours who reassured me that there were other opportunities within the course to balance out my less than ideal midterm grade; thus, one poor grade early on in the semester does not necessarily determine your overall grade at the end of the term. 


That being said, I ultimately decided to take this course S/NC despite my discussion with my professor. In the end, I realized that this course was already causing me a lot of stress. Focusing all my energy towards prioritizing this class in hopes of bringing up my grade adversely affected my performance in my other classes. Therefore, I think you have to address your situation from multiple perspectives and ultimately choose what is best for you. Personally, this semester has been very heavy work wise regardless of this additional stressor. If this is the case for you too, maybe consider dropping the course. As Aryana said above, in the long run, taking three classes one or two semesters is alright, even though it feels like a daunting decision at the moment. 


CRC Eleni wants to add:


I definitely agree with Aryana and Lauren that taking three classes one or two semesters is okay, especially since you need 30 course credits in order to graduate. Sometimes, taking three classes may even be the best option if it allows you to devote your time and effort towards other activities; you can use that time to study for other courses, be actively involved in extracurricular activities, or prepare for standardized tests (such as the MCAT or the LSAT).


However, I want to emphasize that getting a C is also okay! I totally understand that when you put all that effort into a class, you would like that to be reflected in your final grade. Yet, a grade is not all you can get out of a class, and it certainly does not define you as a student. Before making your decision, you should ask yourself whether you like the class and whether you are getting useful skills out of it. If you enjoy the material and you feel like you are learning a lot, it may be worth it to keep attending the course-even if your grade is not as good as you had hoped. The knowledge and skills you develop may prove more useful in the long run than just a grade!

bottom of page