top of page

Oren Karp

Storytelling, AB

Advisors:  Kevin Quashie, Miled Faiza

Capstone:  Family Stories

Capstone Advisor:  Kevin Quashie


How do stories shape us? This concentration studies storytelling as a mode of teaching and learning, but also as a way of knowing and understanding experiences of being human. It considers oral and written storytelling as broad cultural phenomena and therefore as forms that can mediate cross-cultural communication.


My capstone is a series of audio pieces about how stories help us develop our identities and change our perceptions of our place in the world. It deals particularly with stories' capability to (re)create a sense of family identity.


Acknowledgments:  Thank you to my advisor, Professor Quashie: for consistently making time to engage in earnest conversation about my ideas and for your boundless kindness. Thank you to my friends: for your thoughtful, vulnerable interviews and for sharing pieces of yourselves with me so openly. Most of all, thank you to my family: for unwavering love and support from the beginning of this process to the end, for phone calls and weekend visits, for the stories that make me who I am.


---

"What faith and motivation you found in storytelling--so grateful to be able to study with you and wishing you well as you move from here to the next somewhere." --Kevin Quashie


"ألف ألف مبروك يا أورن! أتمنى لك المزيد من النجاح والتألق! - ميلاد !Congratulations"

--Miled Faiza




bottom of page