top of page

Talia Emily Curhan

Nutrition, Psychology, and Human Development, AB

Advisor:  Alison Field

Thesis:  Project REACH: Redefining Eating Availability and Choices in Hospitals

Thesis Advisors:  Patricia Risica, Alison Field, Celeste Corcoran


This concentration explores the intersection between psychology, public health, and education to understand how children's social, cognitive, and nutritional health are shaped by school and society as they grow and develop. The courses focus on cultural and environmental differences that influence health and the construction of our communities in order to effectively address developmental health. My goal is to build solutions to overcome developmental, social, and nutritional health inequities and inequalities.


Project REACH aims to answer the question: Do hospitals promote healthy nutritional and dietary behaviors based on the foods and beverages they have available for purchase for patients and families? I conducted a nutrition evaluation of the food and beverage vending machines at 3 Rhode Island hospitals using the National Alliance for Nutrition and Activity (NANA) standards for vending. The vast majority of food and beverage contents did not meet these standards, and hospital-specific guidelines are needed to encourage healthier vending options.


Acknowledgments:  Thank you SO much to my family, friends, peers, and professors for all of the support, love, and guidance that you have given me during my time at Brown. I am constantly learning from and blown away by each and every one of you. Mom and Dad, thank you for empowering me with the strength and courage to thrive at Brown and to make the most of every opportunity. Most of all, thank you so much for always caring for me and showing me endless love. I am where I am today because of you, and I am forever grateful. Thank you to my advisors, Dr. Field and Dr. Risica, for helping me make my concentration and thesis dream a reality. Finally, a huge thank you to Dean Chang for her constant support and encouragement throughout my IC journey at Brown. Ever true!


---

"Congratulations on completing your thesis and on your graduation! I hope that you are proud of all that you have accomplished!" --Patti Markham Risica



bottom of page