top of page

To Drop or Not To Drop

Dear CRCers:  

I'm thinking of dropping a class. It would mean taking 3 classes then. Is this OK? 

Signed, 

Three-Quarters



Image by Allison Kestler via studybreaks.com

You didn't say why, but it can be a wise decision. Some students have an unexpected urgent issue or emergency situation that is setting them behind schedule, and the extra stress would be alleviated with just 3 full-credit courses. Because Brown degree requirements include 30 credits, a semester or two of 3 credits can be OK.


See this Academic Standing chart, which lays out how many courses students are expected to earn credit for by the end of each semester. Some students are approved for an officially-sanctioned course load reduction, due to a SEAS-related condition or a sudden, dire situation, making their "full load" for the semester 3 or fewer credits.


If you are seeking to drop a course because you're afraid of getting a C in the class, then this isn't a great reason to consider dropping it. Many students fear that a C will mess up their chances for a prestigious job or graduate school offer, and others worry that just 3 credits, too, looks bad.


Most applications consider the total picture you present in an application, and not just one "off" semester, or a few Cs. Prioritize your health and wellness always. And if you're having a hard time deciding what to do, remember the advising resources available to you, which include Dean of the College open hours, the deans in Student Support Services, and peer advisors like the ones at the CRC!


CRCer Addy wants to add:

Dropping a course/taking only 3 classes can be a difficult decision, but one that is completely valid and might be the best choice for you. I took a leave of absence in my sophomore year, and during my first semester back at Brown, I ended up dropping a course mid-semester. This was the best decision I could have made. I realized that I was completely uninterested and not gaining any benefit from that particular course. Dropping that class allowed me to more fully engage with my other 3 classes -- I felt like I actually learned more that semester because of the reduced course load-and gave me more flexibility and self-compassion as I made the transition back to Brown, academically, socially, and emotionally. 


Especially at Brown, as a student, there can be a feeling of "I always have to be doing the most I possibly can." The decision to take 3 courses can feel antithetical to many of the messages we receive about the "right" or most "successful" way of going about our education. Sometimes dropping a course can bring up feelings of shame or that you're "giving up." This is not the case!  Most of the people I know have taken only 3 courses at least once during their time at Brown. Of course, think deeply about why you want to drop a course and that you will still be on track to graduate when you want. But dropping a course means that you are truly evaluating what YOU need. Maybe you need or want to prioritize your mental and/or physical health, family life, social life, extracurriculars, personal creative pursuits, etc. It is okay to not always prioritize academics to the most we possibly can.


CRCer Ruth wants to add:

As mentioned previously, the graduation requirements are designed so that you can take 3 courses a semester twice during your time at Brown. This isn't a mistake -- Brown built a little slack into the requirements on purpose! Sometimes it's the case that you're midway through the semester and you decide that a course really isn't doing it for you, or you're totally in over your head with work, or there's just some other way you'd rather spend your time than being in that 4th class. I've taken 3 courses a couple of semesters at Brown, and I don't regret doing it. For instance, when I took 3 classes in my junior spring, I was able to decompress after a difficult fall semester. In addition, it allowed me to engage more deeply with the material in the courses I did take. 


However, a caveat I would offer -- talk to your professor first. If you're thinking about dropping a class because you're overwhelmed or falling behind, they may be willing to work with you to adjust deadlines. You might even consider taking an incomplete and finishing the coursework over the summer.

bottom of page