top of page

Visual Art (DUG)

Updated: Jun 29, 2020


Thinking of applying to be a DUG leader for the VISA department? Before going remote, we met with Caitlin Takeda '20 (she/hers), Sophia Meng '20 (she/hers), and Tèo Obiaya '21 (they/them) to ask about their experiences as DUG leaders. Read an excerpt below:

---

Why did you decide to be a DUG leader?


C: I think I joined because I had really great mentors in the years above me who were DUG [participants] and were really involved with the department. I wanted to get more involved because I liked the faculty too.


S: I was really heavily doing my CS requirements for the first half of my undergrad and I wasn’t as part of the VISA community as I wanted to be. I got a lot more involved my junior year and I realized how great of a community it is, especially because art is such a personal and vulnerable expression. Everyone is really supportive and helpful with everything people are trying to do and explore. I wanted to be a bigger part of that community.


T: What Caitlin and Sophia said goes for me. I just love the VISA department. I think it's my favorite department on campus because of how open people are to helping others. Brown does a whole diversity and inclusion thing, but the VISA department shows a commitment to it, at least on an interpersonal level. I've asked for help in classes before from professors. They say I have to buy this and this and I'll reply that I can't do that. They're really upfront about how they can help, and they give me more help than I expect. I appreciate that. Just because of the size of my department, you know most people in it if you just hang around for a while. I value these experiences in this department.


What are some of the rewards and challenges?


C: I feel like rewarding wise, it has been being able to create community because that is really important within this department. Also feeling like it's less polarizing, or less hierarchical. It feels very much like I just belong in the department. Professors are really open to collaborating and the staff is amazing.


S: It's been really rewarding to get to know faculty and staff more on a personal level. I feel like our [department] administration is one of the few that truly tries to look out for its students. Everyone is just so willing to help if you approach them with a problem.


C: Something about loving art. Artists kind of understand each other in a way like, "aw man we’re all out here struggling." We gotta have each other's backs or else, like what else are you going to do. We’re struggling together. Everyone is a little lost and angsty.


How can people get in touch with you? 


Email us! Or come by List and talk with the staff and just be like, 'Hey I wanna be more involved.' We're very friendly here.


---

Sophia Meng:


Caitlin Takeda:


bottom of page