top of page

Lisa Goddard - Language and Identity: Sociolinguistics Case Study of Scotland (Spring 2013)

Updated: Jun 27, 2020




I am really glad to have had the opportunity to complete a GLISP as part of Brown+1 when I was abroad during my junior year in Edinburgh. Not only did it round out my experience abroad by helping me more fully understand the place in which I was living and studying, but it also prepared me for more independent research during my senior year when I completed my independent concentration capstone and other self-directed projects. 


After graduation, I was an English teaching assistant with Fulbright Taiwan, and in 2015 I finally returned to Edinburgh to complete an MSc in Applied Linguistics. My dissertation focused on teaching English abroad, and my ability to conduct in-depth research for this program was certainly due in part to my GLISP experience. 


Since 2017, I have been a preschool and elementary school teacher in a bilingual school in Italy, where while teaching I am conducting research about how the Reggio approach to early childhood education and a bilingual environment work together to increase natural language acquisition.

bottom of page