top of page

Sheza Atiq - Travel Writing in Turkey, Personal and Cultural (Spring 2013)

Updated: Jun 29, 2020



My GLISP was, quite appropriately, based on travel writing. A course on this genre is taught at Brown, but I think it takes on greater meaning when you're immersed in a new environment and academic institution for a semester. My GLISP was particularly meaningful because it turned out to be a basis for my senior thesis. While reading travelogues and writing as a traveler myself I couldn't help pick up on some literary points, which, as an English major, merited greater attention. Thus I formally explored the status of travel writing through my research as I enrolled in the English Honors program.


On a personal note, the GLISP was a wonderful opportunity to maintain ties to Brown, and get to know a fabulous faculty member. Professor Jonathan Readey turned out to be my thesis advisor of course, but also a mentor. I find that I still look back at my thesis and the experience of the GLISP post-graduation, particularly as I [had] to refer to the independent research experience [while] applying to grad school.

bottom of page